Each time you save your Capture design (*.DSN) and library files (*.OLB) , your system creates the backup files *.DBK and *.OBK and saves them in the same directory as your design and library files.  


If your current Capture DSN or OLB file(s) become corrupt, you may be able to retrieve and recover schematic data from your DBK and OBK files. However, Capture only saves and maintains one DBK and OBK file version for each DSN and OLB you save. If you inadvertently save the corrupt version of DNS or OLB file, you may unintentionally corrupt your DBK and OBK files. Use of the Capture Auto Recovery feature described in this knowledge base document, describes how you can recover your schematic work. 

A single backup file is only a first step towards protecting your work. It is recommended that you establish a regular periodic backup of all your engineering files to prevent loss of data due to software problems. 


Auto Recovery 

The Capture Auto Recovery feature enables you to recover your work after a system crash or power outage. When you activate this feature, Capture automatically saves the state of your open design and library files each time a specified time interval (designated in minutes) passesIf your system unexpectedly closes, next time you open Capture, the Auto Recovery feature will enable Capture to automatically open your project files from your …Windows/temp directory. 

 

 
 

You can enable and configure the Auto Recovery feature by selecting the menu items: Options > Preferences and opening the Miscellaneous tab of the Preferences dialog box.  
 

 

 

Enter a value in minutes to specify the frequency for which the Auto Recovery feature will archive your work. The frequency may be from five minutes to every 120 minutes (2 hours). 


The FILES.ASL auto-recovery file 

Capture maintains a file called FILES.ASL in the \Windows\temp directory. This file includes a list of all design and library files that were open in the most current session. Capture updates FILES.ASL each time a project is opened or closed. If your system unexpectedly closes without properly exiting Capture, the file named FILES.ASL has a list of design and library files that were open when the system failure occurred. 

 

It is important to remember auto recovery is not an automatic saving feature intended to replace the Capture Save commands. Capture removes auto-saved files from your system each time you close or exit Capture normally. If you unintentionally exit Capture without first saving your changes, the changes are lost.  


When the Auto Save/Recovery interval is reached: 

  1. Capture examines all open design and library files. 

  1. If a file that is part of the project is open for editing, Capture examines it to see if it has been modified since the last auto-save. 

  1. If it has, it is saved to the \Windows\temp directory. 

  1. If the project itself was modified, or one of its files was auto-saved, the project is saved to the \Windows\temp directory. 

  1. When this happens, the auto recovered version of the project file is updated such that the path of any auto-saved designs or libraries change to point to the \Windows\temp directory. 

  1. Any paths of ".\" are changed to point to the directory the project was loaded from. 

  1. Capture can then open the project from the \Windows\temp directory with all paths pointing to the correct location: the \Windows\temp directory for those files that were auto-saved, and the original location for those files that were not modified are not auto-saved. 

    When a project is closed normally, all auto recovered files in the \Windows\temp directory for that project are deleted. 
     

Restoring auto-saved files 

  1. When you start Capture, your system checks for the FILES.ASL file. 
     

  1. If Capture finds the file, it reads it. 
     

  1. If Capture exited abnormally the last time it was used, and there are design and library files listed in FILES.ASL, Capture opens the design and library files from their original locations. 
     

  1. Capture then appends "(Restored)" to the project manager's title to indicate that the project was loaded as a result of a previous system failure. 
     

  1. Capture also looks for design and library files that were auto recovered to the \Windows\temp  directory. 
     

  1. If any are present, Capture opens them, changes their name to a default name (such as PROJECT1), adds "(Restored)" to their project manager's titles, removes the file name and directory from the project manager window, and marks the project as modified. 
     

  1. Capture then looks in the project for any files that reference the \Windows\temp directory. 
     

  1. Any files that are auto recovered from the Windows\temp directory are opened, their filenames and directories are removed from the project manager window, and they are marked as modified. 
     

If the information described above does not answer your questions, please contact EMA support for further assistance.  

Contact information for EMA support:  
Phone877-362-3321 Option 5 
Fax: 585-334-6693 
Email: TechSupport@ema-eda.com