A feature that enables users to quickly identify modified reference designators was added to OrCAD Capture 16.6. This feature underlines the reference designator value after manual modification. 


Before manual modification



After manual modification



The activation or de-activation of this feature may be controlled either locally for a part, or globally for the design and Capture application. By default, the underlining is omitted from printing.


Local activation of this feature for a part

  1. Select the part and select Edit Properties from your right mouse menu popup menu. This opens the Property Editor.



  2. Using your right mouse button, click in the value cell for the property called Reference.

  3. Select User Assigned Reference from the context menu.
    • To disable the underlining, select Unset.
    • To enable or re-enable the underlining, select Set.


Global activation of this feature for the design

  1. Switch to Project Manager of the design and select the *.DSN line. This is the line immediately after Design Resources.

  2. Using your right mouse button, click the *.DSN line and select Edit Object Properties.

  3. Select the column item, Reference.

  4. Using your right mouse, click to open the context menu and select User Assigned Reference.


  5. To disable the underlining, select Unset.

  6. To enable or re-enable the underlining, select Set.


Activation of this feature for Capture

To disable this feature for all designs, complete the steps that follow.

  1. Open any design.


  2. Select the menu items:  Accessories > Cadence Tcl/Tk Utilities > Utilities..


  3. Select Extended Preferences from the Tcl/Tk Application Dashboard.  Then press the Launch button that is located on the right. This opens the Extended Preferences Setup window.

  4. In the Groups box, select Schematic.


  5. Uncheck the Display on schematic page check box that is located in the Settings area under Display Underscore (_) on User Assigned References.

  6. Click the OK button to save and apply the settings you selected.